Welcome to the Cedar Falls (IA) Branch of AAUW!


Thank You for your interest in the Cedar Falls Branch of the American Association of University Women! We have a membership of about 100 and are the largest branch in the state of Iowa. We are affiliated with the University of Northern Iowa and Hawkeye Community College.

We meet monthly at the Cedar Falls Woman’s Club on the corner of Clay and Third Streets for dinner and a program. Our program theme this year is “Perspectives on the Glass Ceiling“.

We also provide funding for educational scholarships, legal advocacy, research and lobbying to promote equity for women and girls. Members are involved in numerous interest groups and community projects.


The American Association of University Women advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.


The American Association of University Women Cedar Falls Branch will be recognized in the community for promoting the status of women and girls.


In principle and in practice, the American Association of University Women values and seeks diversity. There shall be no barriers to full participation in this organization on the basis of gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, or class.


  • Advocacy and equity for women and girls
  • Life long education
  • Research
  • Diversity
  • Sense of community
  • Community action (from local through global)
  • Voter education
  • Public policy advocacy
  • Social justice
  • Legal advocacy
  • Leadership (within our organization, our community, and beyond)
  • Coalitions/networks among diverse organizations with similar missions

2013-2014 Board Members pictured above-
Back row from L-R  Susan Kimball, Co-Vice President for Program; Dee Lynch, Secretary; Pam Hays, Public Policy Director; Carol Hedberg, Co-Vice President for Program;
Darline Balm-Demmel, Co-Vice President for Fundraising.
Front row L-R  Nancy Henderson, Treasurer; Barb Feuerhak, President; Ardelle Brown, Communications Director.
Not pictured:  Jean Richardson, Pauline Harding, Co-Vice President for Membership and Mary Fogarty, Co-Vice President for Fundraising.